The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®) program is a voluntary green building rating system with international recognition.  It allows for different buildings to measure and compare their level of ‘sustainability’, and addresses factors such as energy and water use, construction materials, and the indoor environment.  Since its beginnings in 1998 under the U.S. Green Building Council, LEED has evolved to encompass a variety of building types across a variety of conditions.  The Canadian Green Building Council (CaGBC) currently oversees the Canadian-specific versions of LEED.  As of 2015, there are over 2,000 certified projects across Canada, ranging from retail shops to schools to hospitals to institutional buildings.
To achieve LEED certification, projects like Dartmouth 4 Pad Arena must meet 8 mandatory prerequisites, then select additional measures from 110 different sustainability initiatives and thresholds.  The level of LEED depends on the number of initiatives and thresholds (or ‘credits’) achieved, as follows:
(OUT OF 110):
Certified 40-49
Silver 50-59
Gold 60-79
Platinum 80+
After construction is complete, the project documents, including drawings, specifications, narratives, and calculations, are all scrutinized for compliance by an independent third party.  Final certification is only awarded after this third party is satisfied that the requirements have been met. 

Learn more about Sustainable Building Design and the Canadian Green Building Council (CAGBC) 

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now